Popular T20 Cricket Leagues in The World

Popular T20 Cricket Leagues in The World


Champions league twenty20 was founded in 2008 by three national cricket boards. It was backed by the BCCI (Board of Control For Cricket In India), Cricket South Africa and Cricket Australia. All the three boards funded this cricket league. The first tournament held under CLT20 was in October 2009. However, it no longer exists now and the last tournament was held in 2014. Due to low viewership and audience interest, it ended after the tournament held in 2014. It used to have a prize pool around $6 million with the winning team receiving $2.5 million. Domestic teams were the participants in this league.


Indian Premier League is one of the most famous and most attended domestic T20 cricket leagues in the world. Founded in 2017 by BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India), this cricket league is worth $6.7 billion in the international cricket market. There are 8 participants in IPL. These eight participants are franchised teams founded on the name of various Indian states, Union territories or cities. The current titleholder of IPL is Mumbai Indians who won the trophy in 2020.


Formed by Tamil Nadu Cricket Association in 2016, Tamil Nadu Premier League is the biggest T20 cricket league played in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Eight teams participate in this tournament representing the eight districts of the state. The Tuti Patriots team was the winner of the first tournament and the latest winner is Chepauk Super Gillies. The prize money they distribute is around ₹3.40 crore or $476000. Which is distributed among all the eight teams along with the winning team getting ₹1 crore.


Karnataka Premier League was formed in 2009 by KSCA (Karnataka State Cricket Association). This premier league follows the same model of Indian Premier League. It was in limelight due to the allegations of corruption. As similar to the IPL, eight teams participate in this league. This league was not played for four consecutive years from 2011 to 2014. The Hubli Tigers won the championship title in the 2019 tournament.


Big Bash League (BBL) is the second most famous domestic T20 cricket league after Indian Premier League (IPL). It was formed by Cricket Australia in 2011 and sponsored by the world-famous chicken outlet called Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC). In its initial years, BBL had six teams representing six states of Australia. But now they have changed the model and made eight franchise teams representing eight cities of the country. Sydney Sixers was the winner of the recently held ninth session of BBL in 2019/20.


The Global T20 Canada is the first T20 domestic cricket league held in Canada. In 2018 it was formed by Bombay Sports Limited, the owner of Euro T20 Slam. Six teams participate in Global T20 Canada. In each team, there are at least four local Canadian cricketers along with international cricketers. It was a step to encourage cricket in Canada. It was the first cricket league held in North America, which was sanctioned by the International Cricket Council (ICC).


Caribbean Premier League is also known as CPL or CPLT20. It was formed by Cricket West Indies (CWI) in 2013. It was a new model of the tournament which replaced the previous one held in the Caribbean. The first edition of CPL was won by the Jamaica Tallawahs team. The latest champion of the tournament is Trinbago Knight Riders. This Hero Moto Corp sponsored premier league consists of a total of six teams as participants.

T20 Blast

T20 Blast is the first professional T20 tournament held in this world. It was established by the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2003. This tournament was later named Twenty20 Cup in 2014. It was a twenty20 cup established for the England and Welsh first-class cricket counties. The name of this cricket tournament has changed many times. It was also named as Friends Provident T20 and Friends Life T20. Different names were given by different commercial sponsors of the tournament.

T20 Mumbai League

T20 Mumbai League is a state-level T20 professional tournament held in the capital city Mumbai in the state of Maharashtra. This T20 league is not too old. It has been only two years since it was formed by the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) in 2018. Only two sessions were held under this tournament banner. There are eight participating teams in this tournament following the same model as per the Indian Premier League. However, according to the organizers, this league is formed to develop talent at grass root level rather than achieving commercial goals.


Pakistan Super League is one of the top T20 professional leagues organized in Pakistan. It was formed by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in 2015. In its initial years, it had only five teams. But now it has six participating teams representing the six big cities of Pakistan. All of these teams are independently owned by franchisers. They organize tournaments under this banner every year.

Mzansi Super League

Mzansi Super League is a professional T20 cricket tournament held in South Africa. It was formed by Cricket South Africa (CSA) in 2018. Like other T20 cricket tournaments, it is also an annual league tournament. There are eight official teams participating in this tournament every year on a franchise-based system. The latest winner of the tournament is the Paarl Rocks team.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is a T20 cricket tournament organized domestically in India. This tournament was formed by BCCI (Board of Control For Cricket in India) in 2016. This tournament is named after the legendary cricketer of India Syed Mushtaq Ali who played for Indian cricket team before the Indo-Pak partition. Ranji Trophy teams play in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. For your information, Ranji Trophy is one of the top domestic cricket tournaments in India.

Super Smash

Super Smash is a T20 cricket tournament organized in New Zealand. This tournament is also known as Dream 11 Super Smash cricket tournament. Because it was sponsored by mobile gaming application company Dream 11. This tournament is also administered by New Zealand Cricket (NZC). The first edition of Super Smash was played in 2005. The current champion of Super Smash is Wellington Firebirds.


Bangladesh Premier League is a twenty 20 cricket tournament held in Bangladesh. It is among the top three domestic cricket tournaments organized in Bangladesh. Bangladesh Cricket Board Organized (BCB) formed this tournament in 2012. It has seven franchised teams. The current champion of this tournament is Rajshahi Royals.

Lanka Premier League

LPL or Lanka Premier League is a T20 professional cricket league held in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) management formed this cricket tournament in 2020. The first edition was played last year in which Jaffna Stallions won the champions title. This tournament consists of five teams only. My11 Circle is the sponsor of this premier league.

Euro T20 Slam

Euro T20 Slam is a Twenty-20 cricket tournament proposed to be held in 2020. However due to some allegations of missing payments this tournament was delayed. Still, it is proposed to be held in future in three countries such as the Netherlands, Ireland, and Scotland. Euro T20 Slam is also organized and formed by the Bombay Sports Limited, who is organizing the Global T20 Canada League. Six teams are the participants in this tournament.

Afghanistan Premier League

Afghanistan Premier League is a professional T20 cricket league held in UAE (United Arab Emirates). This tournament was formed in 2018 and it is managed by Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB). This tournament has five teams as participants. The Balk Legends team is the current champion of this Premier League. This tournament was also formed to develop the cricket talent in Afghanistan. Local Afghanistan cricket players and up to 40 foreign cricket players were involved in the first edition of this tournament.

The Sports Giant