Indian National Cricket team (ICT) History, Selection committee, Governing body and Players

Indian National Cricket team (ICT) History,  Selection committee,  Governing body and Players

Indian National Cricket team

The Indian Cricket team has competition with other Test-playing countries, mostly with Pakistan. It is known as political rival arch of India. But, recently rivalries with countries such as England, Australia and South Africa have got prominent importance.

As of May 2020, India is ranked in tests cricket match the third position. Also, in Twenty20 third position and second, ranking in ODIs by the International cricket council. Virat Kohli is the captain of the team across all formats. The head coach of an Indian cricket team is Ravi Shastri

Traditionally stronger at home than abroad, the Indian National Cricket team has improved its overseas form in restricted-overs cricket, from the starting of 21st Century, winning test cricket match in South Africa, England and Australia.

It has won the World Cricket cup twice, first under the captaincy of Kapil Dev in 1983, and second in the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni in 2011. After the World Cup winner in 2011, India became the third country after Australia and West Indies to won the world cup more than once. It is the first cricket team to win the World Cup at home place. It has won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 and ICC World T20 in 2007 under MS Dhoni captaincy. It has won the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy joint champions in 2002 along with Sri Lanka.

The India national cricket team of Men is also well- recognised as Men in Blue or Team India. Indian Cricket Team are regulated by the BCCI or Board of control for Cricket in India. It is a full member of the ICC or International Cricket council with one- day test match, T20 or ODI, Test match International status.

Cricket launched by British sailors in India. Indian Cricket team didn’t play their first test cricket sport until 1932 June 25 at Lords. It was the sixth team to grant the test- cricket match status. From 1932, till 1952 India had to wait for its first test-match cricket history for almost 20 years.

In its first fifty years of International Cricket sport, India was one among the weaker teams who won only 35 test cricket match of the first 196 test cricket match played. The team got strength in 1970 with the emergence of super players like Kapil Dev, Gavaskar and Vishwanath as well as the Indian Spin Quartet.


In the 1900 early period, Indians went to play for the England team of Cricket sport. Some of them were KS Duleep Singh Ji and Ranjit Singhji who were appreciated by the British. Their names went on to be used for the two major class tournaments namely Duleep Trophy and Ranji Trophy. An Indian Team in 1911 went on for their first official game of the British Isles. But, their only English country teams played and not the England team.

The British were first who brought Cricket game in the early 17th century in India. The first cricket match was played in India in the year 1721. The oriental cricket club was formed in 1848, at Bombay by Parsi Community. Indians established the first cricket club. The Europeans invited the Parsis after slow beginnings to play cricket in 1877. The Hindus, Parsis, Muslims and Sikhs of Bombay played a quadrangular cricket tournament every year with the Europeans.

Selection committee

The chairman of the committee of selection currently is Sunil Joshi. Sarandeep Singh, Harvinder Singh, Devang Gandhi and Jatin Paranjpe are the other board members of the committee for selection from 2020, 4 March.

Selection for the Indian National Cricket team takes place via Board of Control of Cricket in India or BCCI selection zonal policy. The five zones are represented with one of the board members and one selector nominated through BCCI as the selection committee chairman. It has led to controversial issues that the selectors are biased towards their zones.

Governing body

The ICC or International Cricket Council decides India’s upcoming cricket matches through its future program of tours. However, the Board of Control for Cricket in India or BCCI with its financial influential position in the cricket world. It has often called challenged International Cricket Council program. It is called for more series between Australia, India and England which are likely to get revenue as opposed to tours with Zimbabwe or Bangladesh. In the previous times, the Board of Control for Cricket in India or BCCI was into a dispute with the International Cricket Council or ICC related to sponsorships. The legitimacy of the International Cricket council champions trophy was also into conflict with BCCI.

The BCCI or Board of control for Cricket in India is the authority for the Indian cricket team. It has first-class cricket in India. The board is operating from 1929. It represents India at the ICC or International Cricket Council. It is one of the richest sports organization across the globe. It sold its media rights from 2006-2010 for US$612,000,000. It manages the team selection, Indian team sponsorships or its tours in future.


  • Asia Cup: total 7 time winners: 1984, 1988,1995, 2010,1990-91, 2016,2018 (Record)
  • World Cup: total 2 time winners: 1983,2011
  • Twenty20 World cup: total winner two times: 2007
  • Champions Trophy: Total 2 time winners: (record shared) 2013,2002
  • World Championship: Total one time winner: Record 1985

Players Of Indian Cricket Team

  • Virat Kohli
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • KL Rahul
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Cheteshwar Pujara
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Shubman Gill
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Surya Kumar Yadav
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Mayank Agrawal
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Deepak Chahar
  • Ishan Kishan
  • Hanuma Vihari
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Washington Sundar
  • Avesh Khan
  • Axar Patel
  • Harshal Patel
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Dinesh Kartik

Fan following

Because of the massive Indian diaspora in countries such as South Africa, England, and Australia, a large Indian fan turns out expectedly when India plays in any of the above nations.

There have been several official fan groups that have been formed from years including Bharat Army or Swami Army. The Indian equal to the Barmy Army, that was active in support when India toured in 2003/2004 in Australia. They are well-known to attribute several renowned Indian songs to the cricket sports team.


Indian National Cricket team is strong and famous. It is popular all over the world. It has a huge fan following all over the world. Indian Cricket team has become popular over the years. Indian Premier League has gained popularity in not only India but also across the globe. The Indian National Cricket team is world-famous.

The Sports Giant